Education and Communications
Become an Insurance Broker in Florida.
Independent agents who help clients find and purchase insurance policies are known as insurance brokers.Instead of working with one insurance agency, they offer clients options from many different insurance companies.Florida has a strong insurance market that can lead to a lucrative career as an insurance broker.
Step 1: There are opportunities in your area.
Making this career move is an investment because becoming an insurance broker requires a lot of hard work and money.According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, there will be 9% job growth for insurance brokers.More than 200,000 people work in the insurance field in Florida, and metropolitan areas have higher concentrations of brokers.The strength of the insurance job market can be gauged by looking at job boards in your area.
Step 2: It is necessary that you complete the education requirements.
Before becoming a licensed broker in Florida, you must complete these formal educational requirements.You need a high school education to be an insurance broker.A bachelor's degree is not required, but having one makes you more attractive to employers.You don't need previous professional experience in insurance to become a broker in Florida.
Step 3: Decide what kind of insurance you want to sell.
You can specialize in a number of different types of insurance.In Florida, you have to take a tailored pre-licensing course and a licensing exam in your chosen area for most specializations.There is an accident and health.Different policies will cover different aspects of medical care and protect individuals from the financial impact of unexpected medical bills.A car.Motorized land vehicles are covered by automobile insurance.Loss or damage to the vehicle can be included in the coverage.People who are homeowners.Damages and losses to personal residences are covered by this insurance.Homeowners insurance is a requirement for many mortgage terms.Life.The survivors and beneficiaries of an individual's policy get death benefits from life insurance.There is professional liability insurance.Loss, damage, and expenses incurred through negligent or error are covered by these policies.There is a flood.Flooding is a serious concern for many people in the state.Flood insurance protects homes from the effects of floods.Flood insurance is required by many mortgage lenders in Florida.
Step 4: You can find a pre-licensing course.
Pre-licensing courses may be required for certain lines of specialization.The Florida Division of Insurance Agent and Agency Services License Qualifications can be used to determine if you need a pre-licensing course.Determine the costs associated with a pre-licensing course in your area.Pre-licensing courses can be taken online or in a classroom.You may be required to purchase specialized study materials.Depending on the course, you can expect to spend at least 40 hours in it.
Step 5: You have to complete the pre-licensing course.
If you want to apply for the Florida licensing exam, you need to complete a pre-license course.You need to submit proof that you took a course.If you want to get a license with a specialization in health insurance, you need to complete a 40 hour course and submit proof that you passed it to be able to take the exam.
Step 6: Register for the exam.
You have to create an account to register for the licensing exams.To register for the exam, you will need to provide your social security number, and pay $42USD.
Step 7: You should study for the exam.
You will need to devote time to study the material thoroughly if you want to pass the Florida specialization exam.You can study for your exam with study books and online classes.Different areas within insurance are the focus of each exam.General outlines for each exam can be found through Pearson VUE.The exam content guidelines can be used to focus on your studies.The Florida Health & Life exam has 150 questions and 15 pretest questions that will take you 2 hours and 45 minutes.There will be questions relating to the types of life insurance policies that are available.
Step 8: You should take the licensing exam.
There are different licensing exams for different lines of insurance in Florida.The Florida Bureau of Licensing offers an online tool to help you identify the type of insurance you want to work with.You have to take the exam again if you fail the licensing exam.You have one year to apply for a license if you pass the exam.You have to take the exam again if you don't apply within a year of your passing exam date.You can't take the exam more than five times in a year.
Step 9: Your fingerprints should be submitted.
Your fingerprints must be sent electronically via LiveScan if you want to be fingerprints through MorphoTrust USA.MorphoTrust USA requires you to register and make a fingerprints appointment.Local Florida county sales taxes will add up to 45.80USD for fingerprints.Your fingerprints will be used to conduct a criminal history check and submitted to the Florida Department of Financial Services.
Step 10: MyProfile can be created.
Once you pass the licensing exam, you need to register with the state through MyProfile, the Florida Department of Financial Services' Bureau of Licensing online portal.You can apply for a license in Florida.You can only hold a license in one state at a time.You can't apply for a Florida resident license until you give up your state license and move.The license application fees are paid.License applications cost $50.You have to pay $5 for the license ID.
Step 11: You need to apply for an appointment.
A broker can act as an agent of the insurer.Typically, brokers apply for appointments with more than one insurer so they can offer a variety of insurance options for their clients.You must use eappoint to apply for an appointment in Florida.Each appointment costs $60.
Step 12: Your license needs to be renewed.
If you don't get an appointment within 48 months, your license will not be renewed.You must begin the licensing process again if you fail to get an appointment within 48 months.
Step 13: Take continuing education courses.
Brokers are required to complete continuing education courses.You have to submit proof of your courses through MyProfile.Failure to do so could result in the loss of your insurance license.The $250 fine is for failing to submit the required proof.
Step 14: If you leave Florida, you need to transfer your license.
Other states will accept your Florida insurance license if you move out of Florida.Some states have no reciprocity at all.
- The California Secretary of State has a Frequently Asked Questions page.
- What does it take to be a managing broker?
- Can you negotiate with a car broker?
- How To Become a real estate agent.